HOME ABOUT US OUR STAFF SERVICES EMPLOYMENTREVIEWS LOCATIONS CONTACT US


Changes to Regulations in the Non-Medical Homecare Industry

A lot of state and federal changes have occurred in the past year for the California homecare industry. You may need to comply with Federal, State and Local minimum wage and overtime pay requirements as well as all other benefits associated with being an employer e.g. workers compensation insurance, California and San Francisco sick leave mandates along with a myriad of employer/employee regulations.

The following information might be helpful in choosing the best homecare solution for your needs:

Federal Companionship Services Exemption

Direct care workers employed by agencies and other third-party employers are entitled to receive at least the federal minimum wage and overtime pay for over 40 hours worked in a week.

If you are an individual or a family with a direct care worker, you may not only be the worker’s client – you may also be considered the worker’s employer.

Direct care workers are workers who provide home care services, such as certified nursing assistants, home health aides, personal care aides, caregivers, and companions.

For more information click on the link below:
http://www.dol.gov/whd/homecare

AB 241 - California Requires Overtime for Personal Attendants

California Governor Jerry Brown has signed legislation (Assembly Bill 241) requiring that personal attendants receive overtime pay at a rate of one and a half times their regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 9 in a workday or 45 in a workweek.

For more information click on the link below:
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201320140AB241

California Paid Sick Leave

An employee who, on or after July 1, 2015, works in California for 30 or more days within a year from the beginning of employment, is entitled to paid sick leave. Employees, including part-time and temporary employees, will earn at least one hour of paid leave for every 30 hours worked. Accrual begins on the first day of employment or July 1, 2015, whichever is later.

For more information click on the link below:
http://www.dir.ca.gov/dlse/ab1522.html